Habemus Papam (CD)


In stock

This is a double album featuring live recordings of the music sung by the Sistine Chapel Choir, directed by Monsignor Massimo Palombella, before, during and after the Conclave that led to the election of Pope Francis in 2013: the Mass for the Election of the Roman Pontiff (St. Peter’s Basilica), the entry of the Cardinal-Electors into the Conclave (Sistine Chapel), the Mass with the Cardinal-Electors (Sistine Chapel) and, lastly, the Mass for the Inauguration of the Petrine Ministry (St Peter’s Square).

These key moments in the life of the Catholic Church have never before been captured on record, making this release a unique document from both a musical and a historical perspective. Adding to its significance is the inclusion of the announcement of the Conclave s choice and of the first speech made by the newly elected Pope Francis, on 19 March 2013: eleven minutes that captivated audiences worldwide.

Among the works included on this new album are two gems of the liturgical repertoire by Palestrina: the offertory Sicut in holocaustis, probably written to be sung as part of the Mass for the Election of the Roman Pontiff, and the motet Tu es pastor ovium, composed for the enthronement of Pope Sixtus V (1 May 1585). The album also includes several examples of Gregorian chant, as well as works by Francesco Guerrero, J.S. Bach, Lorenzo Perosi, Luigi Molfino and Massimo Palombella. Other hymns include Veni Creator Spiritus, Ave Regina Caelorum, Pater Noster, Gloria, Kyrie, Agnus Dei, Ave Verum Corpus, O Sacrum Convivium, and many more.

Monsignor Palombella is the current director of the exceptional Sistine Chapel Choir, whose members perform all the music on the album.

List of the 31 tracks:

Disc: 1
1. Dominus fortitudo plebis suæ
2. Laus tibi Christe – Sicut dilexit me Pater
3. Credo III
4. Sicut in holocaustis
5. Dossologia
6. Pater noster
7. Ego vos elegi de mundo
8. Ite, missa est
9. Ave, Regina cælorum
10. Litaniæ Sanctorum
11. Veni, creator Spiritus

Disc: 2
1. Habemus Papam
2. Tu es Petrus
3. Statuit ei Dominus testamentum pacis
4. Kyrie – ex Missa de Angelis
5. Laus tibi Christe – Tu es Petrus
6. Exaltabo te
7. Sanctus – ex Missa de Angelis
8. Agnus Dei – ex Missa de Angelis
9. Caro mea
10. O sacrum convivium
11. Ave, verum Corpus
12. Squilli di trombe
13. Tu es Petrus
14. Laudes Regiæ
15. Gloria – ex Missa de Angelis
16. Laus tibi Christe – Beati qui habitant
17. Tu es pastor ovium
18. Dossologia
19. Ioseph, fili David
20. Fuga in Do maggiore

SKU: CD109 Categories: ,
Habemus Papam (CD)

In stock